My Brother

thanksThere are not enough words to express how thankful I am for my brother.  He has been my light when everything was dark.  He makes me laugh.  He makes me mad.  He tells it to me like it is, without sugar-coating it.  He is just as kooky as the rest of us.  His name is David.  It’s from the Hebrew language and means “beloved”.  Although we don’t tell him (his head is big enough as it is), he really is beloved.

My family has never been demonstrative.  We are not the kind of family who kiss and hug hello or say I love you when we say goodbye.  Yet, we all know that we love each other.  We would go to the ends of the earth for each other.  We care deeply for each other.  We just don’t wear it on our sleeves for others to see.  We show our love for each other through unconditional love and support.  We show our love through jokes only members of our family get.  We show our love by getting into each others business, often uninvited.

We are family.  You didn’t choose us.  God did.  He put us together for a reason.  You are, and always will be a blessing in my life.  Just please, no more dog poo Christmas gifts!

signature

Leave a Reply

