50 is coming & My Wednesday Weigh-In

I found this poem over at 300 pounds countdown.  It struck a chord with me and I thought I would share it.
I eat when I’m bored.
I eat when I’m stressed.
I eat when I’m worried.
I eat when depressed.
I eat when I’m mad
I eat when I’m sad
And wouldn’t you know it…I eat when I’m glad
I eat when I’ve lost
I eat when I’ve won
And lots of the time
I eat just for fun
Wiping tears with my cupcakes
Using twinkies for fear
Ice Cream will make any problem disappear
I celebrate good days with donuts and cake
Bad days go away if you’ll just start to bake!
Now I can’t wear a seatbelt
or fit in a booth
My health is a mess
From this silly sweet tooth
With God on my side
and hope as my friend
The weight gain will finally come to an end
40′s coming too quickly
I can’t keep it at bay
It’s time for a change
Time for a new day!
     I have several reasons for losing weight and getting healthier.  I would like to keep up with my kids.  I would like to get off some of my medicine.  Family history of health issues.  Seeing several stars hit 50 and soon die.  My goal is to be living a healthier lifestyle by 50 which will be October 2018.  This will affect my family as I will be replacing some of the foods they eat with healthier options (huge struggle).
     Yesterday I got angry with my son as I found out he already wasn’t doing his homework (school has barely started).  I suddenly was craving coke and potato chips.  I don’t keep either in the house so it was easy to resist temptation.  I am glad I am realizing that it’s just my emotions triggering my food cravings.  I have always been an emotional eater.  I need to just get up and do something and not reach for food.  It does help to know that I am not the only one feels this way.  If your going to change what your eating, don’t bring anything that you binge on into the house.  Once the kids ate up anything I would want to eat, I didn’t buy more.  Much easier to resist temptation when it’s not in your house.
pumpkin     Speaking of temptation, Halloween will soon be here.  I have one rule for Halloween.  Only bring in candy you won’t eat.  Most of the candy I like has nuts and we won’t pass any of those out for Halloween since we never know if anyone has allergies.  I don’t like starburst, skittles and kit kats.  I also wait until the day before to buy the treats.  Once my kids get home from trick or treating we go through their candy to make sure it’s safe to eat.  Then I have a small container for what they will keep and a bag for what will go into work with my husband.
     Good News!  I have lost more weight!  I am down 12 lbs total.  I love Medifast crunch bars.  When I eat a chocolate crunch bar I feel like I am sneaking something I’m not supposed to eat.  I also finally used my oatmeal Medifast meal to make cookies.  I skipped adding splenda (yuck), added in PB2, and slowly added water until everything mixed together.  I didn’t use the entire amount of water.  It really satisfied my cookie craving.
  • Starting weight: 191 lbs
  • Today: 179 lbs (10/1/2014)
  • Loss to date: 12 lbs
  • Remaining: 48 lbs
  • Goal: 130 lbs
Leave a Reply

