TSFL

tsflI am starting a new way of life which is a fancy way of saying I am going on a diet.  I am joining Medifast and their Take Shape for Life program.  TSFL has a free health coach while you go through Medifasts 5+1 program.  This is where you eat 5 of their meals and one lean and green meal that you make on your own.  You might think 6 meals is a lot until you consider that many of the meals are very low calorie.  You eat every 2-3 hours.  This will help keep you from feeling hungry especially when you pair it with drinking your 8 glasses of water a day.

water bottleThose 8 glasses may seem like a lot (and it is).  I have a battle plan in place for it.  I have two 32 oz. water bottles that I will be filling every morning.  My goal is to drink one by Noon and the other by 5pm.  I generally don’t have anything to drink after 5pm-6pm.  This is so I don’t end up in the bathroom at 2 in the morning.  I will have one small glass of water with my evening meal at 7pm.  You can add certain flavor enhancers to your water for the times that you just can’t bring your self to drink more water.  They do count as a condiment so remember to count it.  One of the main reasons I decided on this program is the Health Coach.

cheerWe all need a cheerleader to help keep us motivated and on track.  A Health Coach is someone who has been on the program and wants to help others succeed.  They may have completed the program and moved on to transitioning their weight or they may still be in the weight-loss phase.  I am glad to have someone (other than my husband) to help and support me.  Not sure if something is on plan?  Ask your coach.  Not sure why you are plateauing with your weight? Ask your coach.  Looking for a new meal to try?  Ask your coach.  Did I mention your coach is FREE.

I will be posting my progress periodically.  If my lean & green meals turn out ok, I will post those too.  My biggest challenge will be the lean & green and the healthy fats.  I am a very picky eater and I can only have minute amounts of diary and a lot of lean & green recipes have cheese.  I can have milk in cooked items like pancakes but not cheese or yogurt.  I’m limited to tiny amounts twice due to having Chrons.  I also can only have small amounts of anything acidic like tomatoes or oranges.  In order to make sure I am not having too much of what will trigger my Chrons to flare up, I will being using a tracking sheet I found on Pinterest.  I also have found a ton of recipes on Pinterest as well.

Weights and tape measureI have broken down my weight loss into several mini goals.  I like to use 15 lb increments.  So I will be celebrating almost every 15 lb weight loss.  How do I celebrate you ask?  I buy myself something I am going to need for a trip I will be taking in February.   My main celebration will be purchasing new clothes when I hit my goal weight.  Until then at 15 and 45 lbs, I will buy belts (for those jeans that will become too large) and I will also try to take in some of my shirts as we go along.  Currently I am a size 14/16 (depending on the brand) and when I am at my goal weight I will be an 8.  I kept my clothes from the last time I lost 30 lbs (size 12) so I won’t have to buy much between now and my goal weight.

One last benefit from this plan.  I am going to pack their food when I go on my trip in February. Then, after eating them, I will have loads of space in my suitcase to fill with souvenirs.

Today: 191 lbs
Loss to date: 0 lbs
Remaining: 61 lbs
Goal: 130 lbs

One thought on “TSFL

Leave a Reply

