Birch Box Review

IMG_0575I have let my review of my BirchBox slip due to obligations.  I have finally sat down to give you the scoop.

So what was in the box I received?

  • Lumiere d’hiver Clarifying Shampoo $32 for full size 8.5 oz – This Shampoo has a perfume scent.  Normally I’m not fond of scents, but this was very light.  My sample size had enough for me to wash my hair 4 times if I used it sparingly.  It did not strip my hair and was very gentle which I need with curly hair.  I have a hard time paying $32 for shampoo, but it if goes on sale, I would buy it.
  • Lumiere d’hiver Reconstructing Mask $58 for full size 5.1 oz – I was very sad I could only get 2 uses out of the sample size.  Seeing the price, I completely understand why it was small.  This is a great conditioner.  I am seriously considering getting it and only using it on the tips of my hair which dries out from blow drying and flat ironing.  
  • Dr Lipp original nipple balm for lips (I kid you not, it’s on the tube) $14.50 for full size .507 oz/15ml – I absolutely loved the Dr. Lipp and will be purchasing it.  I used it at night and my lips felt soft and hydrated in the morning.  I will definitely be using this on my upcoming trip in February to Hong Kong.  Long (16 hours) plane rides mean I need some serious hydration.
  • Vasanti BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator – $34 for full size 4.23 oz – A nice facial scrub which did not cause any redness or irritation on my skin.  I didn’t find that it did any better than my St. Ives apricot scrub that I get for $7.  I didn’t notice any brightening of my skin, however, I have only used the product for a week.  I will continue until my sample is gone and I will update this page if I see a difference.
  • Dr.Jart+ BB Beauty Balm spf 25 $36 for full size 1.5 oz – Ahh Dr. Jart+  how do I love thee.  I just don’t love the price tag.  You evened out my skin tone beautifully (hard to do with all my freckles).  I wore it out of the house without adding any other makeup (well other than filling in my eyebrows).  It covers more than a tinted moisturizer but less than some foundations.
  • Coastal Scents Revealed Palette Sampler in Ballerina $19.95 for 20 shade palette  – What can I say its eyeshadow.  It worked well like all my other eyeshadows.  I would easily use half of the shades in this palette.  I think for $20 it’s a decent buy.

I think I will be putting the reconstructing mask and Dr. Jart+ on my christmas list.  They are both a bit more than what I am willing to pay on myself.  Have you given any thoughts to trying out BirchBox?

signature

2 thoughts on “Birch Box Review

  1. You fill out a form which gives them specific information about you so they know what to send you. It is possible that you might get something that doesn’t suit you, but it is a sample size of the item. I love getting samples to try. I have always resisted trying new products as I don’t want to end up with wasted products. Hope this helps!

    Like

Leave a comment